« Frightened Rabbit announce U.S. tour dates | Main | Coldplay, Robyn @ Wells Fargo (photos, setlist) »

The Mountain Goats announce 'Transcendental Youth'

The Mountain Goats Transcendental Youth

Following last Thursday's unexpected demo release, Merge Records have revealed that they are readying a new album from the Mount Goats called Transcendental Youth. The 12-song affair will arrive in stores on October 2nd.

Humorist John Hodgman decided to act as publicist for TY's initial announcement and he "can report that it is a very good album and has many more instruments on it than those early tapes, including Peter Hughes on bass, Jon Wurster on drums, and, for the first time, a full horn section."

Bandleader John Darnielle also had some words regarding the release, "It is kind of a family effort for us: the four of us who spend half the year in a tour van together are the four who went into the studio to play & record songs whose choruses grew from things scrawled in notebooks in the back of the van and occasional demos recorded in hotel rooms between tour stops"

The quartet hit the road this fall, but those dates have yet to be announced. Keep checking back.

The Mountain Goats - All Devils Here Now



01. Amy aka Spent Gladiator 1
02. Lakeside View Apartments Suite
03. Cry for Judas
04. Harlem Roulette
05. White Cedar
06. Until I Am Whole
07. Night Light
08. The Diaz Brothers
09. Counterfeit Florida Plates
10. In Memory of Satan
11. Spent Gladiator 2
12. Transcendental Youth