« Not Quite Classic: Ada Ray - "I No Longer Believe In Miracles" | Main | M.I.A. - "Baby" (demo) »

Album Review: Anchor & Braille, 'The Quiet Life'

Anchor and Braille The Quiet Life

When Stephen Christian isn't on stage with his main band Anberlin, he's toning things down with his side project Anchor & Braille. Co-produced by Civil Twilight keyboardist Kevin Dailey and A&B guitarist Micah Tawlks, The Quiet Life is the follow-up to 2009's well-received Felt.

Written over the last three years, TQL is an album that is simply marvelous and shouldn't be overlooked. Stephen is known for his incredible songwriting and this LP is a prime example of that as each song invokes its own emotion. The opening track "Goes Without Saying" detonates with an electronic backdrop spliced with dreamy piano. Song of the year candidate "Find Me" features one of the most heavenly choruses heard this year. While Stephen knows how to write some rockin' tunes, he really excels with slower tracks such as "Collapse", "If Not Now When" and the piano driven "Hymn For Her". Be sure to pick up a copy of The Quiet Life on July 31st via Tooth and Nail.

RIYL: Anberlin, M83

Go Download: "Find Me"


01. Goes Without Saying
02. Knew Then Know Now
03. Find Me
04. In With The New
05. If Not Now When
06. Kodachrome
07. Collapse
08. Hymn For Her
09. Everybody Here Wants You
10. Before I Start Dreaming