« Laura Marling announces tour dates | Main | Odd Future release official 'Loiter Squad' trailer »

Billy Bragg & Wilco detail 'Mermaid Avenue: The Complete Sessions'

Billy Bragg and Wilco

UK singer/songwriter Billy Bragg and Chicago alt-folk crew Wilco are getting set to honor their hero, Woody Guthrie, once again. For the folk legend’s 100th birthday, Wilco and Bragg will release a comprehensive box sex of their Mermaid Avenue series.

The set includes remastered versions of the two previously released volumes and a previously unreleased third volume. Mermaid Avenue: The Complete Sessions also includes a copy of Man in the Sand, Kim Hopkins’ 1999 documentary about the beginnings of the project, a booklet with liner notes by Woody’s daughter Nora Guthrie, lyrics, and photographs, and some sketches by Woody.

The whole thing hits stores on April 21, Record Store Day, via Nonesuch. Check out the album art above and the tracklist for Mermaid Avenue: Volume III, which will be also be available separately.


Mermaid Avenue: Volume III tracklist

 01. Bugeye Jim
02. When The Roses Bloom Again
03. Gotta Work
04. My Thirty Thousand
05. Ought To Be Satisfied Now
06. Listening To The Wind That Blows
07. Go Down To The Water
08. Chain Of Broken Hearts
09. Jailcell Blues
10. Don’t You Marry
11. Give Me A Nail
12. The Jolly Banker
13. Union Prayer
14. Be Kind To The Boy On The Road
15. Ain’ta Gonna Grieve
16. Tea Bag Blues
17. I’m Out To Get